Testing a new fragrance – Oatmeal Stout

I have been making beer handmade soap for a while, and I have done it all unscented. I have been interested in the fact that one of my suppliers has had beer fragrances for some time, but have not taken the jump into trying them yet. When I placed a recent order to them I asked for a sample of their Oatmeal Stout fragrance and they happily included it with my order.

It has been sitting on my desk for a few weeks as I have been contemplating what to do with it. As we are getting close to St. Patrick’s Day and Father’s Day I finally took the plunge and made a tester batch of handmade soap with it so see how it behaves.

 photo Prepedmold_zpsa5522ccf.jpg

I prepared my mold and laid it out on the towels that would insulate the soap through its gel phase until I unwrap it tomorrow.

 photo BeerampLye_zps6259e62f.jpg

I had boiled down the beer to remove the alcohol and the carbonation from it. After it cooled I mixed it with the sodium hydroxide and set it aside to cool. My supplier said that the Oatmeal Stout fragrance could accelerate the trace, and I didn’t want to have to worry about soap on a stick (blender).

 photo meltedoils_zps6e1331b9.jpg

Here are all of my oils melted together and ready to go. I melted the coconut oil and palm oil earlier and set it to cool, again to reduce the risk of soap on stick(blender) and then added my liquid oils to the cooled solid oils.

 photo rawsoapbeforeFO_zps713e14e5.jpg

This is the raw soap (the oils mixed with the sodium hydroxide/beer solution) after a few minutes of blending it. It is still too thin to pour, but just right for adding the Oatmeal Stout fragrance.

 photo AfterFO_zpsb89c5bf7.jpg

Here I’ve added the Oatmeal Stout fragrance (and some powdered oatmeal that wasn’t in my original recipe, but it sounded good in the moment) and it has come to a medium trace. See that line across the lower part of the bowl – that is the trace that I was looking for. My patience in soaping with cooled oils and sodium hydroxide/beer solution has paid off as it doesn’t seem to have accelerated the trace significantly, and I have plenty of time to get it into the mold.

 photo Inthemold_zps2e65f879.jpg

Here it is in the mold, ready to be wrapped up and put to bed for 24 hours to get a good gel going. All of the extra sugar from the beer will increase the temperature from the gel, but should also increase the bubbles in the lather as well.

Stay tuned for the unmolding and cutting of this soap!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Testing a new fragrance – Oatmeal Stout”

  1. the diet solution Says:

    It’s awesome for me to have a site, which is good in favor of my know-how. thanks admin

Leave a Reply

