Onion Jam – A marriage made in heaven in my mouth

Ok, usually I don’t write about new recipes that I try, but I just had to share this one.

Onion Jam. No, it’s not sweet, and not what you would put on your toast in the morning (unless like me you like toasted sour dough bread with some goat cheese spread on it and then put some of the Onion Jam on top of that – Yum!), but makes an amazing topper for steak, pork chops, chicken, served on a cheese board, used as a canapé topping, or just eaten with a spoon!

This is not a hard recipe to make, but it takes patience and time. Do not try to rush this or you will end up with burned jam, which is not good.

Here is the recipe:

4 cups thinly sliced onions
¼ cup olive oil
½ teaspoon salt
½ cup good quality stock (I used beef, but can use veggie if desired)
½ cup red wine
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1-2 tablespoons brown sugar

Heat a large skillet and add the oil. When the oil shimmers in the pan add the onions, sprinkle the salt over the onion and cook over medium heat until onions are translucent. Reduce heat to low and cook for 10-15 minutes until onions start to caramelize. Add the wine, stock, vinegar, 1 tablespoon brown sugar and 1 cup water. Bring to a simmer and cover. Allow to cook for 20 minutes, or until the liquid has reduced. Remove the lid and cook over low heat until the liquid is almost completely reduced to a thick syrup. Try a small amount and see if you need the other tablespoon of brown sugar and add it now if needed.

You can use it hot from the pan, room temperature (for a cheese board or similar service), or cool it and store it in the fridge for up to 1 week (but I’ve never had it last that long – it always gets eaten before that).

I hope you enjoy this as much as I did!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Onion Jam – A marriage made in heaven in my mouth”

  1. Luna Hoitt Says:

    Thank you for sharing your tale and pain

  2. Tory Ringuette Says:

    Hey there, You have performed a fantastic job. I will certainly digg it and for my part recommend to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this website.

  3. canape Says:

    Really good blog. That’s exactly what I was looking for.

  4. samsung 1080p hdtv Says:

    Exceptional is the only word I can find to describe your content. I can’t tell you how long it’s been since I’ve found such terrific writing. I concur with your points of interest. Great job! http://www.samsung1080phdtv.net/

Leave a Reply

