Updated Chocolate Handmade Soap – third times the charm!

I’ve heard from customers, and those who browse my booth at shows, that they would like my Chocolate Handmade Soap to smell more like chocolate. I hadn’t been scenting it to keep it 100% natural, but I have heard the requests and will be scenting future batches.

Since I was changing my recipe I thought that this would also be a good opportunity to make further changes and use some Cocoa Butter Lotion up that turned out a little thin and make it into Lotion Soap.

Try #1

With my other Lotion soaps (like Gardenia, Cucumber-Melon, Freesia) I mix the sodium hydroxide directly into the lotion and it mixes in quite nicely. However, due to the fact that the Cocoa Butter Lotion has 20% added cocoa butter to my normal Lotion, when I added the sodium hydroxide to the Cocoa Butter Lotion it reacted instantly to the cocoa butter and turned at once into a big solid mess of soap. It started to saponify the cocoa butter on contact and within a minute I had a large caustic mess on my hands. I tried stirring for several minute and hoped that it would loosen up and I could use it, but to no avail. So I disposed of it properly and went back to the drawing board.

Try #2

I decided to mix the sodium hydroxide with a small amount of water and then add the Cocoa Butter Lotion to the oils and try that. It worked! While I did have a very concentrated sodium hydroxide solution it wasn’t a problem because of the lotion in with the oils. Once I had the soap at a light trace I added my chocolate fragrance oil and it instantly smelled like a bowl of brownie batter! It was a good thing that I had more soap to make, otherwise I would have been tempted to make brownies right then and there! I stirred the soap to a medium trace, poured it into the mold and then wrapped it up and set it to do its thing for 2 days.

It looked wonderful, un-molded beautifully, but when I cut into it there was a small liquid center. UH-Oh. The soap got too hot. Ugh.

Try #3

Ok, so now that I have the soap that smells great, but got so hot that some of the oils leaked out I decided to pull out my soaping crock pot and rebatch the soap. I cut it into pieces, poured the liquid oil from the middle into the crock pot, added the soap chunks, a small amount of water and turned it on. A couple of hours later I had a hot-pot of soap that was ready to mold. My sister came over just as I was about to put it in the mold and asked if I was making chocolate pudding. When I told her it was soap she was curious and watched me put it in the mold.

I let it sit for 24 hours and then took it out of the mold and cut it into bars, and now it’s curing before being ready to be boxed and labeled.

For those of you who want to try it first, it will be available at the Webster Street Jam on September 11 & 12, 2011. If you can’t make it I will have it available the next week on my site.

Coming Soon: Floral Fragrance Oils are cranky at high temperatures & I should know better than that!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Updated Chocolate Handmade Soap – third times the charm!”

  1. Solai Luke Says:

    This is a important post! Thanks for this! Using sincerely Luke aka couchgool.

Leave a Reply

