Breast Cancer, Body by M & Me

I haven’t been blogging as much as I would have liked to, and while many of you might has supposed that it is related to the demands of having a new baby, that is only partially the case.

In November 2010, when I was 33 weeks pregnant, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. It was a shock since only 9,000 women a year are diagnosed with breast cancer.

In December 2010 I had a lumpectomy and then had to have a revision since they didn’t get all the cancer the first time. The good news is that it was not in my lymph nodes, so it had not spread.

I delivered Elaine on January 3, 2011. She is a healthy baby and came through the 2 surgeries when I was pregnant with her with flying colors.

In the middle of January I was informed that chemo would be my best option along with radiation. I scheduled my first chemo session on February 23, 2011. I will have 4 treatments, each one 3 weeks appart followed by 5 weeks of radiation where I will go Monday-Friday.

Because of all of this it has taken me more time to manage Body by M than I had expected, but while that has slowed me down some, it will not stop me. Body by M will be up and running during my treatments, even if orders are processed a day or two later than usual.

Because of my personal battle I have started a page on my website to help with research and finding a cure and better predectors for breast cancer. Check out the page at Support Breast Cancer Research where I will be adding some of my favorite products to help with this terrible disease.

I promise to blog more often about both my battle and Body by M over the next few months.

Leave a Reply

