Blending essiential oils – not as easy at is sounds

I’m working on a blend of essential oils to make my Pumpkin Handmade Soap (Yep, it’s ready for purchase now) smell more like pumpkin pie, but it’s not as easy as it sounds. The ginger essential oil that I have has a very strong scent to it, and even afer 12 hours of the blend sitting that’s about all I can smell. It’s amazing that is has over powered the smell of the Clove and Cinnamon essential oils! But I’m still working on it.

This mornign I increased the amounts of clove and cinnamon essential oils and will smell them his evening to see how the blend is working.

One of the problems when you blend essential oils is that you have to give them time to ‘marry’ just like in cooking. The longer they sit together the more you can smell what the final results will be like.

So, it will be a work in progress, and it might still take me a few more days to come up with a blend that I like, but I’ll keep at it!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

