Goat Milk Soap – in the mold and in the freezer

As most of my soaps are, Goat Milk Soap is really a labor of love. It’s tricky to make, easy to burn the milk during the process and end up with an orange soap that smells a little when first cut, but that smell goes away.

I did about a week of research before venturing into making Goat Milk Soap – which I finally did yesterday. It took me about 30 minutes longer to make it than most other handmade soaps, and I had to watch my temperatures VERY closely to keep the milk from burning.

So why is it in the freezer? Well, that’s simple. If I had let it gel there is a good chance that the sugars in the milk would have burned (see What is the gel process and why does it matter fore more on that) and the soap would not have been the color that I wanted.

I also added some Colloidal Oatmeal to the soap and didn’t scent it. I want it to be a natural soap especially good for those with sensitive skin as there are no artificial extras added to it.

I’m still waiting to take it out of the freezer, let it come to room temp, unmold it and cut it. I’ll post pictures of it once it’s cut. It will still need about 4 weeks to cure, so expect it to go on sale the end of April 2009!

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Goat Milk Soap – in the mold and in the freezer”

  1. dryroibia Says:

    Great site this bodybym.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor πŸ™‚

  2. etheva Says:

    excellent site this bodybym.wordpress.com rated to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor πŸ™‚

  3. etheva Says:

    nice site this bodybym.wordpress.com brill to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

