So many ideas, not enough time

One of the things that is the hardest when you have a business is trying not to get overly creative with new items all the time. Sweetened condensed milk, beer, carrot, milk, and aloe are all things that I have either played with or am thinking about playing with in handmade soap, but I don’t think that they will ever make it to sale. Mostly because I have to know when to say when, but also with the economy being what it is it doesn’t seem like a great time to expand my line more than what I currently had in the cue.

So, how do I get our my creative outlet with so many ideas floating in my head? That’s the great thing about making soap in small batches. I can make a small batch of something, see how it turns out and then I usually end up giving it away to family and friends (who even call me periodically to see if I have more samples for them to try) or keep it and use it myself. My husband has the largest collection of soap in his locker in the locker room at work, and even has people at his job asking for his soap.

There will be new products from time to time, but generally I won’t really be adding a lot of new products over the next 6-12 months. But don’t worry, it doesn’t mean that the creative juices aren’t flowing; it just won’t be showing up on the website very much.

Leave a Reply

