Creating new recipes

I adore playing with new recipes. Sometimes the inspiration comes to me while driving or cooking, and sometimes by talking with others who make soap.

I’m working out a recipe today that uses sweetened condensed milk and the cinnamon sugar FO that I didn’t know what to do with.  There is speculation amongst those of use who make soap that the sweetened condensed milk will create a soap with lots of bubbles thanks to the sugar in it, and the extra fat should make it extra moisturizing as well. We will have to see. I hope to get it made this morning and hope to unmold it tomorrow. I’ll post photos and share my results of how it all pulled together.

 

UPDATE:

The soap is in the mold! I put a swirl of cinnamon in the soap using a “in the pot” swirl technique (but that’s for a later blog). It’s now resting and will be ready to unmold either tonight or tomorrow. It’s scented with my new “Snickerdoodle” scent that is a blend of Cinnamon-Sugar & Vanilla and smells WONDERFUL! It will turn tan/brown due to the Vanilla, but that should just give it character!  Will update once I’ve unmolded and cut it, but here ‘s a photo of it “sleeping”

Sweetened Condensed Milk Soap with Cinnamon, Sugar & Vanilla Scent

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Creating new recipes”

  1. Cinnamon Sugar - What to do? « Body by M Blog Says:

    […] – MARCH 1, 2009: It’s currently being used in a batch of Handmade Soap as in my blog here and I blended the scent with Vanilla and named it Snickerdoodle, after my favorite cookie! […]

Leave a Reply

